Friendship, The Footprints In Your Heart

The scriptures define “friend” in Proverbs 17:17: “A friend loveth at all times.” What a lovely definition! When I looked up what a friend is in the scriptures, this is what I found: “Thy friends do stand by thee, and they shall hail thee again with warm hearts and friendly hands.” (D & C 121:9) I love the thought that my friends will stand by me with friendly hands, ready to help and support me if need be. Peter tells us to “Be ye all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous.” (I Peter 3:8) To me, having compassion for another is true friendship. John compares what the greatest love of all really is when he wrote, “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” (John 15:13)

Sydney Smith (1771-1845) said, “Life is to be fortified by many friendships. To love, and to be loved, is the greatest happiness of existence.”

To learn more about Friendship, The Footprints In Your Heart, click on the link below.

Source: Friendship, The Footprints In Your Heart

Leave a Reply

